Coconut Cupcakes With Cream Cheese Frosting

coconutcupcakes

My mom made these Ina Garten coconut cupcakes a lot when I was younger, and they became one of my favorite recipes as I got older. It’s been a while since I’ve had these, but I started craving them the other day and made a batch tonight.

This recipe is from Ina Garten, who has a show on the Food Network. They’re heavy, hearty, rich cupcakes, so I made a half batch. Check out the above link for the recipe for a full batch. This recipe makes 14 cupcakes. You’ll need:

1.5 sticks (3/4 cup) of unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
3 extra-large eggs at room temperature
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1.5 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 cups sweetened, shredded coconut

For the frosting, you’ll need:
6 oz cream cheese at room temperature
3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup confectioners’ sugar

Preheat your oven to 325 F degrees. Then cream the butter and sugar with a hand mixer or KitchenAid mixer in a large bowl, and add in the three eggs and the vanilla.

Next, combine your dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt) and mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, just until moist. Mix the buttermilk into the batter, then fold in 1.5 cups of coconut with a spoon. Line muffin tins with paper liners, then fill each cup 3/4 of the way with batter. Bake for 25 minutes, then let them cool for 15 minutes before frosting.

For the frosting, cream the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla. Then add in the powdered sugar and mix until the frosting is smooth. Frost the cupcakes and sprinkle the remaining coconut on top, and enjoy!

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

One response to “Coconut Cupcakes With Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Val

    Yum! I love everything coconut (macaroons, almond joy, mounds, samoas). If I get the energy I will definitely have to make these soon! (probably just half a batch though!)

Leave a comment

Recent Posts