German Pancakes (Dutch Babies!)

foodblog1

I woke up this morning with an insane craving for a German Pancake, or as my mom called it when I was little, a Dutch Baby. I walked to the fridge and realized that I had no eggs, so I almost gave up on the craving… but then I walked to my local convenience store to get eggs because I wanted to make the pancake so bad!

Anyway, this recipe is total comfort food for me. The recipe makes one german pancake, which is enough for one or two people, depending on whether you fill the pancake with fruit or not. The pancakes are usually more poofed up than the one I made (above), but the pancake will taste good no matter whether it’s tall or not.

To make this, you’ll need:

2 eggs

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup flour

1 pinch nutmeg

1 pinch salt

2 T butter

2 T powdered sugar

lemon

Put a small skillet (10 inches or less) in a 475 oven. Meanwhile, combine 2 eggs in a bowl and whisk them until they get foamy. Add milk, flour, nutmeg, and salt to the eggs slowly until combined and slightly puffy. When the oven reaches 475 degrees, take the pan out and turn the oven down to 375. Melt the 2 T of butter in the pan, making sure the pat of butter is entirely melted before adding the rest of the batter.

Once you’ve poured the batter into the pan, put it back into the oven for 12-15 minutes, or until golden brown and puffed up. I love to eat mine with lemon juice and powdered sugar, but you can also garnish it with any fruit of your choice. Baked cinnamon apples are great, and strawberries are also totally delicious. Enjoy!

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

