Greek Chicken Burgers with Caramelized Onions and Goat Cheese

998752_4894925342793_46292200_n

I have a love affair with caramelized onions. I make vats of them by sautéing thinly cut sweet onions with butter for 20 minutes on medium low heat, then adding cracked black pepper and brown sugar to the pan. I put them on almost everything I eat at this point… I have a Tupperware container of them in my fridge right now, in fact.

Anyway, tonight I checked to see what I had in my fridge and grabbed some ground chicken to make burgers. Even though it’s a super messy burger/ patty melt, it’s one of my favorite meals. Ladies, it’s definitely a man friendly meal, too, and perfect for a summer date night.

For 4 burgers, you’ll need:

a package of ground chicken or turkey meat

1 lemon

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 T oregano

1 T basil

salt and pepper, to taste

1/4 cup toasted bread crumbs

8 slices of sourdough bread, toasted

1 avocado, mashed with a slash of lime juice

goat cheese

2 T caramelized onions per burger

catsup, other condiments

First, form your burgers by combining the ground chicken in a bowl with the juice and zest of one lemon, minced garlic, oregano, basil, salt and pepper, and bread crumbs. Mash that up with your hands and form patties. Transfer those patties to the fridge while you prepare the onions (unless you’re like me and you have a vat of them in your fridge).

Grill the burgers or cook them on the stove at medium heat (you may have to cover them so that they cook through if they’re on the stove). Then spread one slice of the toasted bread with catsup, goat cheese and avocado. Add the burger patties to the sandwiches (I often cut them into halves so that they’ll fit on the bread) and top all of that with caramelized onions and another slice of sourdough bread!

Beware— this is a messy dinner! It would be great with a side of a simple salad or grilled veggies.

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

One response to “Greek Chicken Burgers with Caramelized Onions and Goat Cheese

  1. Pingback: BLT Salad with Avocado and Garlic Butter Croutons | 3 Peas in a Pod

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

