Ham and Swiss Cheese Quiche

Growing up, my mom always made quiche with the leftover veggies, meats and cheeses in the fridge, so sometimes I crave that baked egg goodness. I’ve been working on eating everything in my fridge to save money before I grocery shop again – using up all of my leftovers, every last vegetable and all of the meats that I got for sandwiches and meant to eat for lunch (but didn’t). So yesterday morning I perused my fridge and realized that I had all of the ingredients that I needed to make a ham and swiss quiche. Done and done!

photo (55)

I made my own pie crust, which takes a lot of extra effort. The recipe is here and I’ve included the steps that you need to follow if you want to make your own pie crust (I did because I didn’t want to go out and buy something else), but a frozen or pre-made pie crust will work just as well, and will save you a lot of time!

For the pie crust, you will need:

1 stick butter (1/2 cup), cut into cubes and frozen

1 1/4 c flour

1/2 t salt

1/2 t sugar

4 T ice water

I put the butter in the freezer, then headed to Starbucks for a few hours. When I came back, I constructed the dough. Keep in mind that this makes one pie crust. If you were making a fruit/ dessert pie, you would need two (a top and a bottom) so you would need to double this recipe!

Add the flour, salt and sugar to a blender and stir or pulse a few times to mix. Then add the butter and start pulsing until the mixture looks coarse. The butter should be in small pieces (pea sized) when you’re done. Slowly start adding water (it should be cold!) 1 T at a time until the dough starts to come together. Once it looks moistened (it won’t be in a ball yet), turn it out onto the counter and knead it briefly. Only knead it a few times, as the longer you knead it, the tougher it will become (and no one wants a tough pie crust!). Once you can fashion it into a little disk, it’s ready.

Package up the disk in a zip lock or plastic wrap and refrigerate it for at least an hour (or up to 48 hours). When you’re ready to make the quiche, just take the dough out of the fridge, allow it to sit for about 10 minutes, then roll it out with a rolling pin and a sprinkle of flour! You’ll want it to be pretty thin.

The first step to assembling the quiche is actually rolling out the pie dough and putting it in a pie pan, draping the dough slightly over the edges of the pan and pinching them. Prick the dough with a fork and then bake it in a 400 degree oven for 10 minutes.

While the dough is baking, assemble the rest of your quiche! For my version, you will need:

1/2 onion, cut into small rings

2 cloves garlic, minced

6 small tomatoes, cut into chunks

1 handful spinach

1/2 cup ham, diced

1/2 swiss cheese, diced

1 whole egg, 5 egg yolks

a pinch of oregano

a pinch of thyme

salt and pepper to taste

parmesan cheese

Start by sautéing in the onions in olive oil. Once the onions are slightly brown and turning translucent, add the tomatoes and allow them to cook until they become mushy. Once the tomatoes were mushy, I smashed them with the back of a wooden spoon so that they turned into a kind of tomato sauce (I frequently make this to put on pasta, too). I then added oregano, thyme, garlic, salt and pepper to the mixture and let it cook over medium low heat for about 10 minutes before adding the spinach and letting it wilt. Once you’ve done that, turn off the heat and let the veggie mixture cool.

Once the pie crust came out of the oven, I turned the oven down to 375 F. I then added a layer of ham and cheese to the bottom of the pie and cracked eggs (one whole egg and 5 yolks) into a bowl and beat them. The eggs were added to the cooled veggies, and that mixture was then poured over the ham and cheese in the pie crust.

The entire quiche went into the oven for 30 minutes, and when it came out, I sprinkled grated parmesan cheese over the whole thing. To tell if it’s done, shake the pan. It shouldn’t jiggle – if it does, it means that the eggs are not cooked through and it needs more time!

This recipe was fabulous. Sean helped me make it after our long run, and he polished off half of the quiche for dinner. I ate a couple of pieces for dinner, and another piece for breakfast today. Less than 24 hours later, the entire pie is gone! The tomatoes are sweet and the swiss cheese has a bit of a bite, making it a perfect cleaning out the fridge dinner. It would also be a great, impressive thing to make for a brunch party, and keep in mind that you can add basically any ingredients to a quiche. Asparagus, mushrooms, bacon, chicken, cheddar cheese – the options are endless.

Enjoy 🙂

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

