Sweet Potato Hash

2013-05-27 19.50.07-2

Sweet potato hash is up there on my list of favorite foods. I could eat it for every meal, and it’s like a gourmet version of french fries. I love it!

Last night I planned to eat my leftover salmon for dinner and needed a side dish, so I went over to my shelf to see what I could find. I had three small sweet potatoes, so I decided to make a sweet potato hash that I could have as a side dish for dinner and for breakfast the next morning with a fried egg on top!

To make my version of sweet potato hash, you will need:

1/2 onion, diced

2 T butter

2 small cloves of garlic, minced

3 small sweet potatoes or 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced into 1/4 inch cubes

salt and pepper, to taste

cumin

olive oil

shredded parmesan cheese

 

First I added the diced onions to a pan with 2 T butter and let them cook over medium heat until they were translucent and starting to caramelize. Then I added the sweet potatoes with a drizzle of olive oil and spread them out so that they were only one layer thick.

In order to make browned, crispy hash browns that also cook through, you’ll need patience! Once your potatoes are in a single layer, set a timer for 5 minutes and don’t flip them until the timer goes off. When you flip them, they should be golden brown and yummy. As you rearrange them to make sure that they get browned on all sides, add the cumin, salt and pepper and garlic. You may need to add a bit more olive oil if the pan is dry.

Continue to let them cook for another 3-4 minutes, stirring with spoon to keep them from burning. These definitely need to be tasted, and I found that I needed to cover the pan for 2-3 extra minutes in order to help every potato piece cook through. Crunchy, uncooked potatoes are not good!

Once you take them off of the heat, sprinkle the dish with freshly grated parmesan cheese. I like to top them with a fried egg for breakfast, and catsup on the side is also a must.

Enjoy 🙂

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

