Banana Muffins with Crumb Topping

It’s my final week of class, and I have lots to do – articles to write, projects to complete, papers to grade and internship emails to send. Hilary is in the midst of finals week, so she also has lots (and lots and lots) to do. But I walked into the house tonight and saw that I had three VERY ripe bananas on my shelf (which were making the kitchen smell all banana-y), so I of course made the rational decision that I should make banana muffins instead of studying.

Clearly, I am feeling very motivated. It is now an hour past the making of said muffins and while I’ve done a load of laundry, made muffins and written this blog, I can’t say I’ve done anything mildly related to school. Oops.

So here’s the recipe for my awesome procrastination muffins. They have a crumb topping, which turns a normal muffin into a superior and incredibly delicious muffin.

muffin1

This recipe is based off of a recipe that Google gave me when I typed in “banana muffins”. It makes 11 muffins – I didn’t double it because I only had three very ripe bananas.

You’ll need:

1 1/2 cups flour

1 t baking soda

1 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

3 ripe bananas, mashed

3/4 cup white sugar

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/3 cup butter, melted

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

2 T flour

1/4 t cinnamon

1 T butter, chilled and cut into chunks

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Then line a muffin tin with little muffin papers.

In a big bowl, mix together all of the dry ingredients (1 1/2 cups flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt). In a second, smaller bowl, mix the wet ingredients (mashed bananas, sugar, egg, melted butter). Add the banana mixture to the flour mixture and stir just until moistened. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins. Like I said above, my batch only made 11 muffins.

In a small bowl, make the crumb topping. Mix brown sugar, 2 T flour and cinnamon. Then cut the 1 T of butter into little chunks and mix them into the topping until it resembles course cornmeal. Spoon this over the muffins.

They’ll need to bake for about 18-22 minutes. When they’re done, they’ll look golden brown, and a tooth pick will come out clean!

Enjoy 🙂

muffins2

 

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

One response to “Banana Muffins with Crumb Topping

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

