Stuffed Peppers

2013-02-19 19.33.11

I made pasta with chicken sausage, spinach and butternut squash on Saturday, so I had leftover chicken sausage that I wanted to use tonight. And stuffed peppers are one of my favorite things to make, so I got excited when I realized that I had all of the ingredients. You can make stuffed peppers in a lot of different ways, but this is my version. Enjoy šŸ™‚

This recipe makes enough for one stuffed pepper, but I had leftover stuffing that I baked in a ramekin next to the pepper in the oven.

You’ll need:

1 pepper (any color)

1 cup of minced onions

1 clove of garlic, minced

a handful of baby spinach leaves

2 links of chicken sausage

1 cup of rice

1 T oregano

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup chicken broth

1 cup shredded parmesan cheese

First, cook the sausage in a saucepan, start the rice and preheat the oven to 375 F. Once the sausage is done, put it in a small bowl.

2013-02-19 18.50.16

Next, core the pepper. Cut off the top and hollow out the inside of the pepper (remove the seeds or anything else inside of it).

2013-02-19 18.58.08

I also like to even out the bottom of the pepper so that it stands straight in the pan.

2013-02-19 18.58.29

Cut around the stem of the pepper so that you have someĀ remnantsĀ of the pepper. Cut them up into little pieces – there won’t be many, but I like to put them in the stuffing! Then, saute the onions, garlic, spinach and pepperĀ remnants in the sausage pan. Add the cooked rice and the sausage to the mixture, and sprinkle in the oregano, salt and pepper. Grate parmesan cheese into the pan, and let the entire thing sit for about 2 minutes.Ā I like to add about 1/4 cup of chicken broth to the mixture too because it makes it all come together nicely.

2013-02-19 19.07.05

Once that is all blended together, put the pepper into a pan and then stuff it with the mixture you just prepared. You will probably have extra stuffing (like I did). If you do, put it in a small oven safe container and bake it next to the pepper. Before the pepper goes into the oven, grate more cheese over the top of it!

Bake the pepper for 20 minutes – the pepper should feel tender to the touch when you take it out, and the cheese should be bubbling.

2013-02-19 19.32.51

2013-02-19 19.32.40

This is so comforting, and it uses up a lot of the key ingredients in my fridge. YUM. You can make a Mexican version of this with beans, Mexican spices and jack cheese on top, or an Indian with curry rice. You can even make an Asian version with peanut sauce.

Bon Appetit!

Love, Jenni

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

