Roasted Vegetable Salad

When I got home last night, I was flustered and stressed. Public transportation in Boston has been totally miserable since the snowstorm (the streets have turned into ponds and the T has turned into a muddy, slow, packed mess), and I had just gone grocery shopping and carried my groceries the 15 minutes through that slush to my apartment so my shoulders were hurting. I was not a happy camper. I realized that I needed to do some things to de-stress, so I took a hot shower and cooked a good dinner in my favorite sweat pants.

I saw a recipe a while back for a roasted vegetable salad, and I wanted to make something fresh for dinner, so I made a variation on what I remembered from that recipe. Here it is!

photo (10)

For this recipe for a roasted vegetable salad, you will need:

1 yellow onion, cut into larger chunks

2 handfuls of mushrooms, washed and cut in half

1 zucchini, cut in half and then in small half moon slices

2 large tomatoes, deseeded and cut into wedges

1/4 c balsamic vinegar

1 t red pepper flakes

1 T basil (dried or fresh)

1 garlic clove, minced

olive oil

salt and pepper

This recipe is pretty easy, but you have to let the veggies cook for a while so patience is required. I did my homework while I waited.

First, put the onions and mushrooms into a pyrex baking dish and drizzle them with olive oil. Sprinkle them with salt and pepper and toss the veggies so that they are coated. Then put the pan in a 400 F oven for 15 minutes, stir, and let them roast for another 20 minutes. The longer they roast, the more flavor they will have! They will also cook down to make room for the other vegetables.

After those 35 minutes, scoot the onions and mushrooms over so that they only cover half of the pan. Mix the tomatoes and zucchini with olive oil, salt and pepper. Then put them in the empty half of the pan with the cut edges of the tomatoes facing up. Put the pan back in the oven and roast for another 20 minutes.

Once your timer goes off, transfer the veggies to a bowl and drizzle them with sauce. To make the sauce, combine balsamic, garlic, red pepper flakes and basil in a small bowl. Stir, then drizzle that over the warm veggies.

This would be an awesome side dish, or you can make polenta to go with it! I ate mine with a slice of crusty bread and it tasted like a gourmet version of bruschetta. Major yum 🙂

photo (12)

Love,

Jenni

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

