Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_0655

Last night Hilary, Danielle and I came home from school and work feeling stressed, overwhelmed and exhausted. Danielle went off for a 5 mile run, Hilary studied for her test and I did the Insanity work out, and then we all had chocolate cravings. A quick check in the pantry confirmed that we had everything we needed for my special chocolate chip cookies, so I decided to cure our cravings with some yummy baking!

I’ve been making these cookies since I was ten (on the original recipe at my house in Seattle, I spelled the word flour, “flower” and wrote it out with gel pens) and the thing that makes them great is that I double the vanilla. Heck, sometimes I even triple the vanilla! Vanilla is the secret to making all baked goods taste excellent, but make sure that you use pure vanilla extract NOT imitation. I promise, you’ll be able to tell the difference if you use the imitation.

This recipe makes about 24 cookies. I usually double it, but if you double it don’t double the salt. I’m not sure why, but they will taste too salty if you double the salt. I know this because I have made this recipe literally hundreds of times, and  they just aren’t as good with double (or triple) salt.

Ingredients:

1/2 c + 3 T butter, softened

1/2 c brown sugar

1/2 c white sugar

1 egg

2 t vanilla

1.5 c flour

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

1/2 bag semisweet chocolate chips (or chocolate chunks, or dark chocolate chips)

Preheat your oven to 375 F, then cream the butter and sugar together with a blender. Add the egg and vanilla to the butter mixture and beat until combined. You can be fancy and sift the dry ingredients together next, but I don’t – I just dump it all straight into the bowl! Add the flour, baking soda and salt, mixing until combined, and then add the chocolate chips.

Beware – you should probably make a double batch because you will want to eat all of the dough. And if you make a single batch, you may not have enough for two pans of cookies. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Drop the dough in 1 inch balls on ungreased cookie sheets, and bake for 9 minutes. Take them out when they look slightly undercooked – they’ll be better that way.

IMG_0650

Enjoy 🙂

Love,

Jenni

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

