Butternut Squash Lasagna

IMG_0252

School has started back up and before I get too caught up in work, I thought I would post! Today I had a really long day and because my brain is fried from 6+ hours of class, I thought maybe writing this would be therapeutic.

I just got home from yoga class and, as hungry as I was, something easy like a grilled cheese just didn’t seem like what I wanted to eat for dinner tonight. So I decided to make up my own recipe for lasagna. Without any tomatoes in the kitchen, I settled for the butternut squash variety!

Ingredients (makes one 8 x8 pan of lasagna, or 4 servings):

1 medium butternut squash

16 oz. ricotta cheese

6 no-bake lasagna noodles

2 generous handfuls of baby spinach

4 oz. fresh buffalo mozzarella

2+ tablespoons of olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

 

First, I peeled and cut the butternut squash into flat pieces and put them in a pot of boiling water for 10 minutes.


IMG_0242
Once the squash is tender, drain and set aside.

IMG_0247

While the squash was cooking, I wilted the spinach in a large frying pan with about 1 tablespoon of olive oil.

IMG_0245

Once the spinach was wilted, I put it in a bowl with the ricotta cheese. To the spinach ricotta mixture I added 3/4 tablespoon of olive oil and salt and pepper to taste. Then, I thinly sliced the mozzarella cheese. If you have it, shredded mozzarella would be a good substitute!

IMG_0248

After putting olive oil in the bottom of the pan to avoid sticking, I layered the squash, lasagna noodles and ricotta mixture until they were all used up and then topped it with the mozzarella cheese. I wished that I had more mozzarella to cover the top, but I was too hungry to worry about visual aesthetics tonight!

IMG_0249

I baked it in the oven at 375 F for 40 minutes and knew it was done when the cheese on top was browning.

IMG_0250

Finally, I let it cool before slicing. Disclaimer: If you are looking for a high calorie, oily, goey lasagna then this is not it. I would say that this was as healthy as you can get when making lasagna without compromising on the cheese, which is how I eat on most days. Additionally, if I were to make this recipe again, I think I would have mashed the butternut squash to give it more of a saucy feel – but it was delicious regardless!

Enjoy!

Love, Hilary

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

