Asian Rice Noodles with Roasted Salmon

My boyfriend Sean came back from New York last night, and I haven’t seen him in a few weeks so I wanted to make a yummy dinner that I could share with him! I know that Sean loves salmon, and I picked some frozen salmon last week at Trader Joe’s because I’ve heard it’s pretty decent, so I thought I’d try that for dinner. I’ve never cooked fish by myself before so because I had a lot of time last night (no classes till the 16th!), I figured it was a good time for a cooking experiment.

If you know me, you know that I’m a Pinterest obsessor, and I use Pinterest to find a lot of my recipes. Last night’s recipe evolved from a recipe that I had pinned a few weeks ago. When I clicked on the link to the recipe – baked salmon with rice noodles – I realized that it was a Polish recipe. I couldn’t read it. I put it through a Google translator, but still couldn’t quite tell what I was supposed to do so I really improvised (Hilary is good at this. Being a perfectionist and control person, I usually am not!).

2013-01-02 18.54.07

For this recipe for Asian Rice Noodles and Roasted Salmon, which makes enough for a hungry girl and her boyfriend, or for a dinner and a cold noodle salad to take to work the next day, you will need:

.5 lb of Salmon (I got a frozen filet at trader Joe’s)

1 packet rice noodles (I used a whole packet of Trader Joe’s brand)

1 bunch green onions, minced

1 T sesame seeds, lightly toasted

1 red pepper, shopped into fine, skinny pieces

1 clove garlic, minced

1 T grated fresh ginger (powdered ginger is ok too!)

1 T basil (chopped fresh, or dried would work too)

1 t red pepper flakes (or more, if you like spicy)

1 T sesame oil

2 T soy sauce

Juice of 1/2 lime

salt and pepper to taste

For the salmon marinade, you will need:

juice of 1/2 lime, 3 T soy sauce, 1 T honey, 2 t rice vinegar, 1 clove garlic

About an hour before you’re ready to start cooking, make the marinade for the salmon in a small bowl. Rinse the de-thawed or fresh salmon filet in cold water and pat dry with a paper towel. Then put salmon in a baking dish and pour marinade over the fish, flipping a few times to cover completely in sauce. Cover the dish with tinfoil and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes but up to 2 hours.

2013-01-02 18.21.30

After the salmon has marinated for a bit (the longer you do it, the more flavor you get!), preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. While you’re waiting, chop all of your vegetables! You’ll need to chop a red pepper, green onions and garlic, and you’ll need to grate some fresh ginger. While chopping the green onions, separate the green parts from the white parts. You will saute the white parts, but you’ll add the green parts at the last minute. Cut red peppers into long, skinny strips.

2013-01-02 18.26.16

Once you’ve chopped everything, take the salmon out of the fridge and spoon the sauce over it once again. With foil covering the top, bake the salmon in the oven for 20 minutes, or a bit more if necessary. Put a pot of water on the stove to boil for the rice noodles, and put oil in a skillet on medium high so that you can saute your peppers, garlic and the white parts of the green onions.

2013-01-02 18.43.07

Cook your rice noodles according to the package. This package told me to cook them for 1 minute in hot water, but some require you to soak the noodles in cold water. Be careful and DON’T overcook them. I did – I got distracted by the Christmas cookies that I found inside the tin my mom sent me a few weeks ago – and I regretted it because they were a tad mushy 😦

2013-01-02 18.31.54

Keep an eye on all of your pots and take a deep breath. Do not feel overwhelmed! You should, at this point, have your salmon in the oven, your noodles in a pot on the stove and your vegetables sautéing in a skillet. Add another small pan and lightly toast the sesame seeds for 2 minutes over low heat. Set aside. When vegetables begin to lightly brown, add grated ginger and continue to cook.

Once the noodles are done, drain them and put them under cold water. Then add them to the stir fry pan with the vegetables. Take the salmon out of the oven and break it up with a fork. Add that to the saute pan as well – both the juices (the leftover marinade) and the meat! Then add red pepper flakes, basil, sesame oil, 1 additional T. soy sauce, juice of 1/2 lime, salt, pepper, toasted sesame seeds and uncooked green onions to the pan.

2013-01-02 18.52.47

Once you’ve added all of the components to the pan, turn the heat to high and stir fry for 1 minute. Remove from heat, taste to make sure that you don’t need any more spices, and enjoy!

This may be a multi-tasky recipe, but it’s pretty straight forward if you chop everything beforehand. Sean loved it (the salmon was the best part, so if you just want salmon with a great marinade, this is a great option!), and it would be great with chicken or shrimp instead of salmon too. Yum 🙂

Love, Jenni

About Jenni

I'm a writer and editor from the Boston area. You can find my work on Upworthy, Narratively, 538, Cook's Country, and more.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

